Tim Hudson, Vladimir Guerrero, Brian Wilson, Rafael Soriano Win IBWAA Awards

The IBWAA announces its first set of 2010 season award results, naming NL and AL Comeback Player awards, the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year, and the Rollie Fingers American League Pitcher of the Year awards.

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announces its first set of 2010 season award selections, naming its 2010 Comeback Player of the Year and Relief Pitcher of the Year awards.

The National League Comeback Player of the Year award was won by Tim Hudson, of the Atlanta Braves, with the American League Comeback Player of the Year going to Vladimir Guerrero, of the Texas Rangers.

The NL Hoyt Wilhelm Relief Pitcher of the Year award winner is Brian Wilson, of the San Francisco Giants, with Rafael Soriano, of the Tampa Bay Rays, being selected the AL Rollie Fingers Relief Pitcher of the Year.

Voting took place between September 15 and October 3, the final day of the regular season. Additional selections will be announced starting the second business day after the completion of the World Series

The IBWAA was created July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of BaseballSavvy.com, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as an alternative to the Base Ball Writers Association of America (BBWAA).

Among others, IBWAA members include Kevin Baxter, baseball writer for the Los Angeles Times; Tim Brown, YahooSports; Tom Hoffarth, Media/General Columnist, Los Angeles Daily News; Tony Jackson, Dodgers reporter, ESPNLA.com; Ben Maller, FoxSports.com; Gary Warner, Travel Editor, Orange County Register; and prominent baseball authors Peter Golenbock, Seth Swirsky and Dan Schlossberg.

Association memberships are open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $20. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.

For more information on the IBWAA, please email Howard Cole, Director, IBWAA, baseballsavvy@aol.com.