Internet Baseball Writers Association of America Tabs Curtis Granderson in American League MVP Vote

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) has selected New York Yankees' center fielder Curtis Granderson as its 2011 AL Most Valuable Player Award winner.

Los Angeles - The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the second of its 14 annual awards Monday, naming New York Yankees' center fielder Curtis Granderson its 2011 American League Most Valuable Player.

Voting results are as follows:
1st Place: Curtis Granderson, NYY
2nd Place: Adrian Gonzalez, Bos
3rd Place: Jacoby Ellsbury, Bos
4th Place: Miguel Cabrera, Det
5th Place: Robinson Cano, NYY
6th Place: Jose Bautista, Tor
7th Place: Justin Verlander, Det
8th Place: Michael Young, Tex
9th Place: Dustin Pedroia, Bos
10th Place: Adrian Beltre, Tex

Los Angeles Times' baseball writer and IBWAA member, Kevin Baxter, explains his Granderson vote this way: "There was not a more complete player in the American League than Curtis Granderson. Certainly the Yankees' deep lineup provided him protection but from runs scored to home runs, from total bases to stolen bases, Granderson was near the top of every list. And almost forgotten is the fact he solidified the Yankee defense by playing an excellent center field."

David Pinto, of, having voted differently, shares this perspective: "Justin Verlander turned in a memorable season, with his win total being his least impressive accomplishment. His ability to go deep in games while maintaining velocity, and holding opponents to a .191 BA despite an average defense made him the outstanding player of 2011 in the American League."

IBWAA Cy Young results will be announced Wednesday and Friday, with Rookie, Manager, Comeback, Executive and Relievers of the Year to follow.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of and Dodger blogger for the Orange County Register, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as an alternative voice to the BBWAA.

Among others, IBWAA members include Tim Brown, YahooSports; Fred Claire, former General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers; Tony Jackson, Dodgers reporter,; Ben Maller, and Fox Sports Radio; David Pinto,; Mike Petriello,; and prominent baseball authors Peter Golenbock and Dan Schlossberg.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $10. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.

For more information on the IBWAA, please visit this page at,


Howard Cole
Director, IBWAA