LOGAN, Utah, July 23, 2021 (Newswire.com) - California has been notorious for its strikingly different labor laws than the rest of the United States, especially when it comes to overtime. Employers and managers all over this West Coast state often scratch their heads, wondering how to correctly record and pay for the time their employees work.
Grant Esser, Head of Marketing at time clock software company, TimeClick, decided to address the common confusion of Californian business managers by publishing a detailed, but easy-to-understand, guide on the current California overtime laws.
As a disclaimer, he quickly notes that the guide should not be taken as legal advice, but is rather a general overview of the policies. Therefore, if you're making a legal decision concerning the matter, TimeClick recommends consulting a California employment law specialist.
Overtime is the paying of one and a half times an employee's regular rate for overtime hours worked. There are several unique types of overtime schedules you are required to pay your employees for in California. They include daily overtime, weekly overtime, double-time, 7-day workweek overtime, and combinations of these types. The guide covers each of these schedules and provides examples for each.
First, daily overtime occurs when an employee works for more than 8 hours, but no more than 12 hours in one workday. It is only recognized by a few states, including California.
Weekly overtime is when an employee works for more than 40 hours in one workweek. This overtime type is observed in every state of the country according to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The rate for both daily and weekly overtime is 1.5 times the employee's regular pay rate.
Double-time is also a rare overtime type, usually given to nurses and emergency responders. With this schedule, twice the employee's regular rate is paid if they work more than 12 hours in one day.
Overtime from a 7-day workweek is when an employee works 7 days in a row. California law states that in this case, the entire 7th day is counted as overtime and the employee should be paid 1.5 times more than their usual rate.
There are some exceptions to these laws if your employee is exempt. To see if your employees are exempt, TimeClick recommends you receive professional guidance or visit the state of California's website.
Esser states, "You can't afford to mess up on paying your employees overtime where it's required." If you're a California business, make sure you're prepared to prevent overtime, keep your payroll costs low, and stay out of messy legal situations.
To read the full guide, visit https://www.timeclick.com/california-overtime-laws-2021/.