American Energy Society Selects Daniel Yergin as the 2020 'Energy Writer of the Year'

The American Energy Society (AES) has selected Daniel Yergin as 2020's "Energy Writer of the Year" for his book The New Map: Energy, Climate, and the Clash of Nations (Penguin Press).

The New Map earned AES' highest literary prize for its ambitious survey and realistic assessment of energy and how it shapes all of human affairs. In his book, Yergin explains with characteristic clarity how the current energy revolution, born from new shale fracking technologies, turned the United States into the world's energy powerhouse almost overnight. That power -- and the rebalancing of the global energy order that came with it -- raises new and challenging questions about competitive geopolitics, the United States' relationship with China and Russia, the role of new technologies and renewables in the energy transition, and the disruption to traditional energy systems caused by the changing climate.

The New Map offers a balanced analysis of global energy and highlights our dependence on the traditional energy order along with our reluctance to embrace the imagined future, the challenges of scale and technology, and the attempts to advance positions and interests with semantics and polemics. Rather than tell us what to think, Yergin challenges us to grapple with the future we are creating.

"There were a lot of great books about energy this year, but Dr. Yergin's legendary contributions to the field, highlighted with the release of The New Map, made this year's selection obvious," says Eric Vettel, President of American Energy Society. "We selected him as the Energy Writer of the Year for his intellectual approach, his balanced treatment of competing ideas, his extraordinary grasp of an enormous subject, his methodical defense of an ambitious thesis with massive amounts of data, his masterful storytelling skills, and in recognition of a lifetime of literary achievement."

About the Author:

Daniel Yergin is a highly respected authority on energy, international politics, and economics, and the Pulitzer Prize-winning and bestselling author of The Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil, Money & Power; The Quest: Energy, Security, and the Remaking of the Modern World; and Shattered Peace: The Origins of the Cold War; and coauthor of Commanding Heights: The Battle for the World Economy. He is vice chairman of IHS Markit and has served on the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board under the last four presidential administrations.

Previous Winners:

●      2019: Vaclav Smil, Growth: From Microorganisms to Megacities.

●      2018:  Nathaniel Rich, Losing Earth.

●      2017:  Meghan O'Sullivan, Windfall: How the New Energy Abundance Upends Global Politics and Strengthens America's Power.

●      2016:  Mark Mills: Shale 2.0.

●      2015:  Coral Davenport, The New York Times.

American Energy Society (AES) is a non-partisan, energy-neutral, independent association of more than 135,000 global energy professionals spanning all sectors and interests. AES supports its members and friends through a variety of publications, services, and professional and business development opportunities.


For more information, please contact Megan Stencel at or (704) 249-1430.

Source: American Energy Society