The Hockey News Honors the Season's Top Players With The Hockey News Awards

The Hockey News Logo

​​The Hockey News, the world’s leading authority on the game, has announced their top winners in the annual The Hockey News Awards.

Every year, the NHL hands out major awards to individual players, coaches and executives. The Hockey News’ editors go a step further, recognizing excellence in a variety of specialty areas and disciplines.

“We decided to create our custom awards to make sure every type of player is honoured,” said Matt Larkin, associate senior writer. “For example, the NHL's Norris Trophy goes to the league's best defenseman – but it tends to always go to a defenseman who is a dominant offensive player. What about the rugged defensive defensemen? The grinding penalty-killing forwards? The most fearsome checking forwards?”

Notable The Hockey News Award winners from this year’s competition include:

●      MVP - NATHAN MACKINNON, Colorado Avalanche

●      Best Player – CONNOR MCDAVID, Edmonton Oilers

●      Best Goalie - PEKKA RINNE, Nashville Predators

●      Breakout Player - WILLIAM KARLSSON, Vegas Golden Knights

●      Comeback Player - CLAUDE GIROUX, Philadelphia Flyers

●      Best Defenseman – DREW DOUGHTY, Los Angeles Kings

●      Toughest Player – TOM WILSON, Washington Capitals

●      Top Penalty-Killer – JAY BEAGLE, Washington Capitals

●      Best Defensive Defenseman – MATTIAS EKHOLM, Nashville Predators

●      Best Rookie – MATHEW BARZAL, New York Islanders

●      Best Coach – GERARD GALLANT, Vegas Golden Knights

●      Best GM – GEORGE MCPHEE, Vegas Golden Knights

The Hockey News editors named their top five picks for all 12 awards, and the results are tabulated using a points system. A first-place vote gets five points, a second-place vote gets four points, and so on.

Results are published in the year-end "Champions" Issue.

The "Champions" Issue of The Hockey News is now available on newsstands and online at and the App is available at Google Play and Apple iTunes. | @thehockeynews

For further information or to arrange an interview please contact:

About The Hockey News
The Hockey News is an award-winning multi-platform Canadian brand that has covered every aspect of the sport since 1947. Its Toronto based team of editors, journalists, and staff have been producing the very best publication of hockey industry content for the past 70 years. The Hockey News is owned and published by W. Graeme Roustan, Chairman and owner of Roustan Media Ltd. For additional information, visit

About W. Graeme Roustan, ICD.D
W. Graeme Roustan, ICD.D is Executive Chairman of Roustan Media and Roustan Capital and was Chairman of Bauer hockey. While Chairman, he took the company public on the Toronto Stock Exchange in 2011. He is a Governor of the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL), on the Canadian Olympic Committee and a National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD) Board Leadership Fellow and earned his ICD.D at the Institute of Corporate Directors at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management. Christian Hockey and Torspo Hockey are also portfolio companies. For additional information, visit

Source: Roustan Media Ltd.

Related Media