North American Travel Journalists Association Announces 2017 Award Winners for Excellence in Travel Journalism

Grand Prize Winners: National Geographic Traveler, Jayme Moye, David Noyes and Washington County Visitors Association: The Tualatin Valley


The North American Travel Journalists Association (NATJA) has announced the winners of its 2017 NATJA Travel Media Awards Competition. Awards were given to publications, travel journalists and photographers whose work was published in print and online media from September 2016 through August 2017. Additionally, awards were given to the top destination marketing organizations. The competition, now in its 26th year, honors the “best of the best” in travel media.  

Entries for this year’s awards reflected an array of excellent journalistic and creative work. “As the awards entries continue to grow, it becomes increasingly difficult for our judges to pick the winners from such a talented pool of submissions. We thank our judges, who represent academia, publications, photographers and PR professionals, for their significant time commitment in making this year’s selections,” stated NATJA CEO Helen Hernandez.

This year’s Grand Prize winners were selected for their brilliance in story-telling, spell-binding photography and creative marketing efforts. Grand Prize Winners were National Geographic Traveler in Publication; Jayme Moye for Travel Journalism; David Noyes for Photography; and Washington County Visitors Association: The Tualatin Valley for Destination.

Additionally, one first place (Gold) winner is chosen in each of the categories along with second place (Silver), third place (Bronze) and finalists. Winners will be recognized at the 2018 NATJA Conference & Marketplace which will be held April 24–27, hosted by the Branson Convention and Visitors Bureau in Branson, Missouri.

The mission of NATJA is to foster high-quality journalism by supporting the professional development of its members, providing exceptional benefits and valuable resources, honoring the excellence of journalism throughout the world and promoting travel and leisure to the general public.

A complete list of the winners and finalists is available on the NATJA website at

Media Contact:

Yanira Leon
Phone: (626) 376-9754

Source: North American Travel Journalists Association

About North American Travel Journalists Association