North Carolina, October 9, 2014 (Newswire.com) - Like most states, there is a DUI law in NC. DUI stands for “driving under the influence of alcohol”. Getting arrested and charged with a NC dui insurance is a criminal offense,
When the alcohol percentage in human blood is 0.08% or higher, the person may be booked under DUI in NC. It is important to remember that DUI laws vary from state to state in their severity, and some states may have a law that is a bit more relaxed than others. However, all states are unanimous in their views that driving while drunk is a crime that can end or destroy a lot of lives, and there must be steps to curb it.
When a person is arrested on DUI Insurance NC charges in North Carolina, he has approximately ten days to ask for a hearing with the NC Department of Highway Safety and Motor to protect his license from being confiscated permanently. If the person fails to request such a hearing, it may lead to a six-month jail term that could drag on for 18 months.
Punishments in NC DUI insurance arrests are varied with far-reaching consequences. There are fines that start at a $250 but could shoot up to $2000 or beyond, depending on the nature of the damage done and the number of times the person has been caught committing the same offense. There are severe jail terms too that a person might have to face. These jail terms could be between six months to five years. Community service, with alcohol education classes is also a mandatory requirement for North Carolina DUI Insurance.
If arrested in NC for a DUI, it is extremely important to get in touch with an expert NC DUI Insurance attorney without delay. Other than retaining a good lawyer, visiting highly informative websites that talk about Florida DUI are a big help. However, it is always advisable to drive in a sober state so that such unfortunate incidents can easily be avoided.