American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians Announces 2021-22 Board of Governors

The American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) announces its new Board of Governors, following their election on Wednesday, March 10, 2021, during the ACOFP Congress of Delegates. New appointments include:

  • President-Elect Bruce R. Williams, DO, FACOFP
  • Secretary/Treasurer Brian A. Kessler, DO, FACOFP
  • Governor Rebecca D. Lewis, DO, FACOFP
  • Governor Derrick J. Sorweide, DO, FACOFP
  • Resident Governor Rachael A. Hume, DO, MPH
  • Student Governor James Wyatt Eikermann, OMS-III

The following Board members have been reelected to their positions:

  • Vice President David J. Park, DO, FACOFP
  • Governor Saroj Misra, DO, FACOFP 
  • Congress of Delegates Speaker Elizabeth A. Palmarozzi, DO, FACOFP
  • Congress of Delegates Vice Speaker Antonios J. Tsompanidis, DO, FACOFP

Robert C. DeLuca, DO, FACOFP dist., remains immediate past president, and Duane G. Koehler, DO, FACOFP dist., automatically becomes past president.

"The past year has presented many challenges to our medical professionals, patients and communities. The ACOFP Board of Governors diligently worked on behalf of its members through successful advocacy and education. I have full confidence in our new Board appointees to continue helping ACOFP achieve the goals in its strategic plan and support the future of our profession," ACOFP President Nicole Bixler, DO, MBA, FACOFP, said. "Their dedication to osteopathic medicine—and to ACOFP—is integral as we move forward as an organization and a profession."

Dr. Williams has practiced osteopathic family medicine for more than 30 years in Eastern Jackson County, Missouri, and currently serves as the associate dean of clinical education at Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, College of Osteopathic Medicine. Prior to his appointment to president-elect, Dr. Williams served as ACOFP secretary/treasurer since 2019.

Dr. Kessler has served on the ACOFP Board of Governors since 2015. He is the vice president and dean at Lincoln Memorial University - DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine, as well as professor of family medicine. Beginning in May 2021, Dr. Kessler will be the dean of the Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine at Campbell University in Buies Creek, North Carolina. He received the Distinguished Service Award from ACOFP in 2013.

Dr. Lewis is a family physician practicing full-scope family medicine, including outpatient and inpatient care, as well as obstetrics, at St. Mary's Hospital in Enid, Oklahoma. She is a part of the 2021 class of ACOFP Fellows recognized during the ACOFP 58th Annual Convention and Scientific Seminars Conclave of Fellows Award Ceremony.

Dr. Sorweide is an attending physician at East Linn Free Clinic and medical staff at Oregon Veterans' Home, both in Lebanon, Oregon. He has also served as assistant professor in the family medicine department at Western University of Health Sciences, College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific-Northwest, since 2012. He was commissioned as a major into the U.S. Army Reserve Medical Corps in 2016 and has received extensive recognition for his service.

Dr. Hume earned her doctor of osteopathic medicine from Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine in East Lansing, Michigan, in 2019. She is now a resident physician at Munson Family Practice Residency in Traverse City, Michigan.

Student Doctor Eikermann is a third-year medical student at A.T. Still University - Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (ATSU-KCOM). He is an active member of ATSU-KCOM clubs and organizations, including serving as chair of the Recruitment Committee for the Student Association of the ACOFP.

Past President Rodney M. Wiseman, DO, FACOFP dist.; Governor Ronna D. New, DO, FACOFP; Resident Governor DeAundre A. Dyer, DO; and Student Governor Thomas W. Duffy, DO, are all outgoing Board members.

Source: American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians


ACOFP is a community of current and future family physicians that champions osteopathic principles and supports its members by providing resources such as education, networking and advocacy, while putting patients first.

8501 W. Higgins Road , #Suite 400
Chicago, Illinois


More Press Releases