ACOFP Announces 2020 Osteopathic Family Physician Awards

The American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) is pleased to announce its 2020 award winners. ACOFP will present the awards to this year’s winners on Saturday, March 21, during the Awards Ceremony of the ACOFP 57th Annual Convention & Scientific Seminars at The Hilton New Orleans Riverside in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Jeffrey S. Grove, DO, FACOFP dist. was chosen as the 2020 ACOFP Osteopathic Physician of the Year. Dr. Grove has been an ACOFP member for over 30 years, served on the Board for 12 years and was the 2013-2014 President. In 2016, he was awarded the ACOFP Excellence in Advocacy Award. As founder of the ACOFP LGBTQI+ Committee, Dr. Grove has been a champion for diverse populations in family medicine and for the LGBTQI+ community.

Janette M. Willcox, DO, FACOFP has been named the 2020 ACOFP Outstanding Female Leader. Dr. Willcox joined VCOM in 2002 as the founding Associate Dean of Clinical Academic Affairs and played an integral role in the development of VCOM’s curriculum and medical education programs. She serves on the Board of Directors for the Virginia Osteopathic Medical Association, the Medical Society of Virginia, the Osteopathic International Alliance and the AACOM Board of Deans.

Christopher P. Zipp, DO, MS, FACOFP, FAAFP has been selected as the 2020 ACOFP Educator of the Year award winner. Dr. Zipp is a constant advocate for medical education and has volunteered his time and expertise on several ACOFP committees. Dr. Zipp has also received a 2020 Distinguished Service award and in 2019, Dr. Zipp’s work with the In-Service Exam Committee on certification correlation on the CORTEx exam was honored with the American Osteopathic Association STAR Award.

Kathleen M. Henley, DO, has been selected as the 2020 Young Osteopathic Physician of the Year. In addition to her clinical duties, Dr. Henley serves as the utilization review and clinical documentation improvement physician advisor and as the Maryland delegate on the board of trustees for the Pennsylvania Osteopathic Family Physicians Society. ​

Kevin V. de Regnier, DO, FACOFP, dist. has been chosen as the 2020 Excellence in Advocacy Award winner. He served as President of ACOFP in 2015-2016, is a Distinguished Fellow, has volunteered as a member and chair of numerous ACOFP committees, and is a member of the American Osteopathic Association’s Board. Dr. de Regnier offers his time to medical organizations and supports his community by helping with causes such as suicide prevention, hospice care, first responders support, the DARE program and more.  

Kenneth E. Nelson, DO, FACOFP dist. has been selected as the Lifetime Achievement Award winner. Dr. Nelson has received numerous awards including the Distinguished Service Award from both the ACOFP and AOA, the Outstanding Achievement Award from the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine, and the Ward Perrin, DO Distinguished Service Award. He is also in the AOA Mentor Hall of Fame. He has been an ACOFP Fellow since 1998 and became a Distinguished Fellow in 2010.

Source: ACOFP


Categories: Healthcare

Tags: awards, Family Medicine, family physician, health care, osteopathic


View Website

ACOFP is a community of current and future family physicians that champions osteopathic principles and supports its members by providing resources such as education, networking and advocacy, while putting patients first.