Mrs. Obama to Present Nation's Highest Honor for Museums and Libraries

The Institute of Museum and Library Services today announced the recipients of the 2014 National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The National Medal is the nation's highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to the community. In its 20th anniversary year, the medals program celebrates excellent institutions that have made a significant impact on individuals, families, and communities across the nation. The award will be presented by First Lady Michelle Obama at the White House on May 8.

These ten honorees exemplify the nation's great diversity of libraries and museums and include a natural history museum, a children's museum, a natural sciences museum, an aquarium, a botanic garden, public library systems, and a book center, hailing from ten states.

The 2014 winners of the National Medal for Museum and Library Service are:

• Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Brooklyn, N.Y.
• Chicago Public Library, Chicago, Ill.
• Las Vegas-Clark County Library District, Las Vegas, Nev.
• Mid-Continent Public Library, Independence, Mo.
• Mystic Aquarium, Mystic, Conn.
• North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, Raleigh, N.C.
• Octavia Fellin Public Library, Gallup, N.M.
• Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, Norman, Okla.
• The Children's Museum of Indianapolis, Indianapolis, Ind.
• Yiddish Book Center, Amherst, Mass.

"Congratulations to the 2014 winners of the National Medal for Museum and Library Service. From programs that foster passion for science, literature and cultural heritage, to critical 21st century skills training for improved educational outcomes and workforce readiness, the services and programs of these institutions truly do make a difference," said Susan H. Hildreth, director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services. "We thank each of this year's medal recipients for their innovation and their dedication to serving their communities."

Winners of the National Medal were selected from nationwide nominations of institutions that demonstrate innovative approaches to public service, exceeding the expected levels of community outreach. After the ceremony, StoryCorps - a national nonprofit dedicated to recording, preserving, and sharing the stories of Americans - will visit each institution to document stories from the communities about the winning institutions.

The next deadline for nominating a museum or library is October 15, 2014. Learn more about the National Medal at

Celebrating 20 Years
This year, IMLS celebrates the 20th anniversary of the National Medal for Museum and Library Service. For the past two decades, the National Medal has honored outstanding institutions that make significant and exceptional contributions to their communities. Including 2014 winners, 142 institutions have received this honor.