Bill Kurzenberger To Release Second Studio Album 'Solitary Road' in June

Ohio-Based Keyboardist / Singer / Songwriter Primed For Summer With Sophomore CD Release

"Solitary Road", the eagerly-awaited sophomore album by Ohio-based keyboardist Bill Kurzenberger, is set for release in June of 2010. Unlike his 2005 release "Suspending Disbelief", which featured Kurzenberger supported by a full backup band, "Solitary Road" features stripped-down versions of six original songs supported only by keyboards and voice. The album is a representation of Kurzenberger's live solo performance, and also showcases two new original songs, Genevieve and Skeleton Key.

While the majority of the album is steeped in Americana rock and blues, the final track is a significant departure to the world of ambient spacemusic. Clocking in at eighteen-and-a-half minutes, Tabula Rasa incorporates elements of worldbeat, jazz fusion, trance, and electronica. It was composed by Kurzenberger over a two-year time period and recorded solely with a Yamaha Motif keyboard. Kurzenberger describes Tabula Rasa as "a musical representation of the past, present and future of life on Planet Earth."

"Solitary Road" was recorded over three years at several Columbus, Ohio recording studios: Wayz & Meanz Recording Studio, Bob's Guitar Shack & Recording Studio, and Musi-Col Recording Studio. Kurzenberger self-produced the album, with tracks engineered by Jeff Farner, Bob Sauls, and Adam Smith. "Solitary Road" will be available in June 2010 for purchase and download at, Rhapsody, and Apple iTunes. The CDs go on sale June 8, 2010 at, and at the following Ohio locations:

- Ace in the Hole Music Exchange, 1153 Kenny Centre Mall, Columbus, Ohio
- Brother Bear Coffee & Cafe, 118 Dayton St., Yellow Springs, Ohio
- Columbus Community Festival Merchandise Booth, Goodale Park, Columbus, Ohio (June 26-28 only)
- Lost Weekend Records, 2960 N. High St., Columbus, Ohio
- Music-Go-Round, 833 Bethel Rd., Columbus, Ohio
- Used Kids Records, 1980 N. High St., Columbus, Ohio

Kurzenberger's CD Release party will be held on Friday, June 4th at Oldfield's on High in Columbus Ohio, just north of the Ohio State campus. The CD Release event will include a solo performance by Kurzenberger, followed by full-band performances by Kurzenberger with the Bug Hounds and Skeleton Crew. The evening is scheduled to conclude with an all-star jam session comprised of Kurzenberger and his bandmates from The Resonators, the Bug Hounds, Skeleton Crew, Local Color, and Terrapin Moon. More information is available at Bill Kurzenberger's official website:

"All props to James Brown, but Bill Kurzenberger may be the hardest working living man in show business." - Cincinnati CityBeat Magazine

"The second release by the enigmatic Ohio-based keyboardist, 'Solitary Road' takes the listener on a journey that follows the travels of a simple bluesman and ventures through the looking glass, encompassing millennia of life on Earth." - Sanctuary Productions


Bill Kurzenberger Bio:

Bill Kurzenberger is a dynamic keyboardist/guitarist/singer/songwriter from Columbus, Ohio. An established solo artist and veteran of fifteen Ohio-based bands, Kurzenberger currently plays keyboards and Hammond organ with The Resonators, the Bug Hounds, Skeleton Crew and Terrapin Moon. Kurzenberger's versatile musical styles range from Americana rock to blues to jazz to funk.

Kurzenberger was born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio, where he learned to play piano at an early age. While attending Ohio Wesleyan University in the early 1990's, he joined his first bands, Lava and Abra Cadaver. He proceeded to play keyboards in a number of established Columbus-based bands including STATION, Sugar Pill, Current, Wazzin', the Ritchey Brothers Band, John Mullins Band, Grasshopper Pie, Fuzz Logik, and the Bug Hounds, as well as London-based Stone Groove, and Dayton-based Skeleton Crew and Terrapin Moon. Kurzenberger has also appeared as a guest keyboardist with acts such as the Marshmallow Overcoat, Cowboy Hillbilly Hippy Folk, and ekoostik Hookah.

Over the past fifteen years, Kurzenberger has performed at many of Ohio's premier venues including Promowest's LC Pavilion, the House of Blues, the Newport Music Hall, the Beachland Ballroom, the Winchester Music Hall, and Legend Valley. With various bands, he has supported and shared the stage with renowned artists such as the Marshall Tucker Band, Derek Trucks Band, Hot Tuna, Blues Traveler, Yonder Mountain String Band, Melvin Seals and the Jerry Garcia Band.

Kurzenberger's debut album "Suspending Disbelief" was released in 2005, and has since received international radio airplay. "Suspending Disbelief" features all-original material, backed capably by Ed Ritchey, Scott Maruskin, Scot Gassen, Julie Rearick and Craig Harpley. The CD is currently available at Apple iTunes, Napster, Rhapsody, and

After the success of "Suspending Disbelief", Kurzenberger formed The Resonators, featuring Julie Kurzenberger, special guests, as well as past and present bandmates. More information is available at Kurzenberger's official website .

Categories: Music

Tags: cd release, new CD, new release

About Call-a-Tek

View Website

Certified Professional Computer Support for computer users in Columbus, Ohio


Columbus, OH
United States