Sara T. Maddox Support of Art Education Award

Nominations Announced for the Sara T. Maddox Support of Art Education Award, presented by Dade Art Educators Association

The Dade Art Educators Association (DAEA), is pleased to announce Craig Robins, Chief Executive Officer, President, DACRA as the 2014
Sara T. Maddox Support of Art Education Award recipient.This award is for a business, community, donor, governmental agency, service group or an organization that has made a significant contribution to art education in the Miami-Dade County area.The nomination was announced by DAEA President Mortimer Hechevarria and President-elect Abena Robinson. The nomination was announced on Saturday, June 7, 2014 at the Perez Art Museum Miami (PAMM).

For the past six years, DACRA has sustained collaborative efforts with Miami-Dade County Public Schools and has significantly contributed in-kind exhibition spaces and support for teacher workshops, schools art openings and events, publicity and promotion of teacher and student shows.

Craig Robins is Chief Executive Officer and President of Dacra, a real estate development company that is known for its cultivation of creative communities, integration of art and design, and overall value creation. Based in Miami, Florida, Dacra has spearheaded some of the most successful and transformative commercial, residential and mixed-use projects in the city's history.

Craig Robins and his team have been instrumental in the enrichment of the arts among young artists in our community . Tiffany Chestler, Manager and Curator for the CRAIG ROBINS COLLECTION has played a key role in managing the collaborative endeavor for children and youth in Miami-Dade County.

Past recipients of this award include: Dr. Clem Pennington,
Betsy Kaplan, Miami-Dade County School Board, Dorothy D Greene, Dade County Watercolor Society, Pat Reams, Dade County PTA/PTSA. The Baccardi Corporation, Wanda Texon, Bass Museum of Art and Ocean Bank.

This award was created to honor a dedicated and talented lady, Sara T. Maddox. She was one of the first Region Art Specialists. She helped write the CurriculART, a nationally recognized innovate art curriculum. When she retired to her native Texas, Dade Art Educators Association wanted to make sure that she would be remembered.